Media Release – Commencement of 2020/21 Season

2 October 2020

Further to a meeting of its Board of Directors earlier today, the following update is issued on
behalf of The National League:
In recent weeks, The National League and The Football Association have been engaged with
Government to address the revenue shortfall expected by member clubs caused by the pause
to the safe return of spectators.
The National League has now received confirmation of significant financial grant-aid support
from the Government to compensate clubs for essential revenue lost from fans not returning
in October, and has communicated with its member clubs to provide reassurance ahead of
the season start.
The 2020/21 National League season will now commence on 3 October as planned with clubs
playing ‘behind closed doors’ in compliance with the elite sport protocols.


The National League start date for the 2020/21 season is 3 October, which is when Vanarama
National League clubs are due to play their first league match and Vanarama National League
North and Vanarama National League South clubs are involved in the Second Qualifying of
The FA Cup.
The National League is the FA affiliated governing body for football clubs who play in the fifth
and sixth tiers of the English league pyramid system. It comprises 67 professional and semi-
professional football clubs organised into 3 divisions: the Vanarama National League,
Vanarama National League North and Vanarama National League South